Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Featured Today! "Isole, Leningrad Cowboys..."

Hello L&DR Listeners!

Keeping this short and because I'm kinda sick lol Here's The Featured bands!

Source: Isole Official...
Isole (SE) - Isole formed under the name Forlorn back in 1990 with two sole members: Crister and Daniel. Several demo tapes were recorded in the 1990s, including Waves Of Sorrow in 1994 - a recording still revered by epic doom metal fans. After a few years of turmoil, in which the band suffered a myriad of line-up changes, I Hate Records approached them in 2003. With a newly signed contract and much motivation, the band saw it fit to adopt a new moniker, thus becoming Isole. Isole's debut album, Forevermore, was released in early 2005 and followed up with a 7", The Beyond, in early 2006. The next album, Throne Of Void - released in the summer of 2006 - delivered an even darker sound than its critically acclaimed predecessor. The next step in Isole's journey was the release of Bliss Of Solitude, which was recorded, mixed, and produced at Studio Apocalypse by the band themselves. The mastering was done by Thomas Nilsson, and Peter Sallai provided the finishing touches with his magnificent yet eerie cover artwork. Bliss Of Solitude received overwhelming positive feedback from fans and critics alike; however, Isole did not fall prey to idleness and continuously worked on new material for their fourth album, Silent Ruins. It was an ambitious concept album in which the band ventured into new territories by incorporating more variation and increasing the pace of the songs. After releasing four albums in four years, Isole slowed things down. They decided to take a break from the studio and focus on playing live in order to gain some perspective before returning to the songwriting process. After touring in more than 10 countries, the band was ready to tackle their latest opus. Isole's fifth release, Born From Shadows, is the continuation of a story that began in 2005 with "Moonstone" on the debut album Forevermoreand then "Shadowstone" on Bliss Of Solitude. On Born From Shadows the two stones symbolize two opposites that finally come together to become one: darkness meets light, death meets life, and good meets evil. With their first releases, Isole were able to secure an excellent reputation within the doom metal underground. They have now elevated their status even further with their last two albums, Bliss Of Solitude and Silent Ruins. Their current work, Born From Shadows, impressively maintains their well-earned position and lays any doubts as to their superiority to rest. Once again the album was recorded and mixed by Isole at Apocalypse and Gustavo Sazes (Arch Enemy, Firewind) provided his artistic know-how to convey a feeling of mysticism and darkness through his symbolic artwork, while Jens Bogren (Opeth, Katatonia, Enslaved) took on the mastering responsibilities.

"Leningrad Cowboys"
Source: Leningrad Cowboys...
Leningrad Cowboys (FI) - The band was an invention of the Finnish film director Aki Kaurismäki, Sakke Jarvenpää and Mato Valtonen, members of the Finnish pop-punk band Sleepy Sleepers. The band was conceived in a bar in 1986 as joke on the waning power of the Soviet Union. Jarvenpää and Valtonen expressed their wishes that Kaurismäki would direct their first music video, which resulted in the short film "Rocky VI" (1986). After two further short films, "Thru the Wire" (1987) and "L.A. Woman" (1988), Kaurismäki decided to direct a feature film about them,Leningrad Cowboys Go America (1989). In the film they are joined by Nicky Tesco, founding member of the UK punk rock band The Members. After the film, the band took on a life of its own, recording music, making videos and giving concerts. The band appeared in two other Aki Kaurismäki films, the Leningrad Cowboys Meet Moses (1994) and the Total Balalaika Show (1994), which is a film of a concert performed by the band and the full 160-member Alexandrov ensemble in Helsinki, Finland in June 1993. Kaurismäki also wrote and directed two videos featuring the band: their cover of the 60's folk standard Those Were The Days (1992) and Thru The Wire (also featuring Tesco) (1992). In 1994, the band appeared together with 70 members of the Alexandrov ensemble at the 11th annual MTV Music Awards, at the Radio City Music Hall in New York, where they sang the Lynyrd Skynyrd classic Sweet Home Alabama. The show was seen by an estimated 250 million people worldwide. That same year, the band and ensemble again joined forces for the "Nokia Balalaika Show", a concert held in Berlin. In 1998 they featured in the film L.A. Without a Map. Currently, the band has 11 Cowboys and two Leningrad Ladies. The songs, all somewhat influenced by polka and progressive rock, are performed in English and have themes such as vodka, tractors, rockets, and Genghis Khan, as well as folkloric Russian songs, rock and roll ballads and covers from bands as diverse as The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Modern Talking, andLynyrd Skynyrd, all presented with lots of humour. Ten years after the Total Balalaika Show, on August 23, 2003, the Leningrad Cowboys and the Alexandrov ensemble returned to the Senate Square in Helsinki with UMO and various international performers for the spectacular Global Balalaika Show, was released on DVD directed by Timo Suomi, on November 21, 2003. In 2006 the album Zombies Paradise was released. This album features a hard rock sound, and draws influences from speed metal, groove metal, and industrial metal. However, covers of famous old songs sounds chaotically effective (especially "Manic Monday"). The album also includes the 1994 Studio version of "Happy Together" as well as a new 2006 version. The music video for the album's cover of the song "You're My Heart, You're My Soul" – is made totally in animated 3D computer graphics as a road-thriller movie. One more show with the Russian Military Band was played in Finland on November 22, 2008. A newly-released publication, Bio-Book PRAVDA – The Truth About The Leningrad Cowboys also appeared. Promotional lines included: "Here it is finally, The Leningrad Cowboys book "Pravda"!" October 2011 saw the release of the Kaurismäki Leningrad Cowboys features and short films as a box set by the The Criterion Collection as of their Eclipse series of releases. This month also featured the new album Buena Vodka Social Club, their first album of all-original material since 2000's Terzo Mondo.

~Thanks for support and listening!
Keep'n Metal \m/

No comments:

Post a Comment